Sharrow counterrotating propeller seems to have negative stagger and positive stagger

Discussion in 'Props' started by Robert Biegler, Apr 19, 2024.

1. Robert Biegler

Robert Biegler Senior Member

I saw this picture in a news piece promising a lot greater efficiency:
    [​IMG]

Each blade of the Sharrow propeller is like a box wing. The forward propeller, down in this picture, looks to have negative stagger. The roots of both parts of each blade are at about the same horizontal level. The aft propeller, up in this picture, has positive stagger. The roots of both parts of each blade are well separated vertically.

Can anybody tell me why that is?

2. seasquirt

seasquirt Senior Member

Hi Robert, I went to their site and didn't see anything there like in the picture you show. I'm no expert, but I suspect it is a multi fit item for LH and RH prop applications, saving on tooling, and being equally effective both directions, in whatever it does, (not really sure what it does but I'll have a crack). I doubt it is for counter rotating setups, but I could be wrong.
    If fixed to the rear (top) prop, on the same splines, in that position shown, it looks like the lower leading edge forces flow into the low pressure zone behind the first drive blade, and the lower concave is jetting water into the gap, and on to the front face of the following drive blade. The back internal face of the lower concave making a low pressure to direct / aid the following negative angled lower front face to push water up into the low pressure zone behind the next drive blade. Assuming the lower section has the same potato peeler type gap as the propeller; hard to tell for sure in that pic.
    It could be just two items unrelated, but stacked nicely to make an impressive (and confusing) chrome picture for the article.
    I studied it for a while, as a non expert, and only replied because no one else did. Maybe an expert here will correct me.

3. Robert Biegler

Robert Biegler Senior Member