Z40 Roadster (Its a sailboat, not a car)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Inquisitor, Jul 31, 2009.

1. Inquisitor

Inquisitor BIG ENGINES: Silos today... Barn Door tomorrow!

I’ve muddled on designing and building a boat for many years. Several years back I started the mental explorations of how to achieve my goals and started reading books, researching on forums like this and started the learning curves on the tools to help in the design process. I enjoy the daydreaming, designing and analysis. I also enjoy wood working and working with fiberglass and I enjoy sailing. Will the Roadster ever see the wind in her sails? I don’t know if I like fiberglass that much. However, for the cynics in the audience, I don’t expect to press the print button and get any satisfaction either.
    I am not an artist. I am an aerospace engineer specializing in structural analysis using composite materials. Meaning, everything has been thought out till I’ve drilled down to China. HOWEVER, I am not a marine architect and I don’t have the practical sailing, designing and building experience that is the gold mine of this forum. There are almost no details that have a cosmetic only reason, so you might find the design rather bland compared to other artist renderings on this site. On deeper inspection you may find a beauty in its Teutonic detail, multi purpose utilization of components, its Transformer abilities and its absolute efficiency of using every cubic inch to the fullest. It is by no means a fully realized design and has some challenges to overcome. But that is part of the enjoyment for me.
    Some of my ideas are rather radical and come directly from the aerospace industry. That doesn’t mean I’m certain they’ll work, but I’m willing to air them here so practical minds can throw darts… hopefully constructively!
    So here we go…

My Criterion – in order of importance are…
    1. Safety
    2. Trailerable
    3. Largest boat possible.
    4. Able to single hand.